DunzosuperHERoes

Dunzo
3 min readJan 28, 2019

Enterprising, efficient and empathetic. The woman of 2019 defiantly rides into the sunset, determined to script her own happily ever after.

Dunzo salutes our women warriors for shattering stereotypes, while paving the way for a fair, and inclusive world. Here are the tales of two women who, against all odds, grabbed opportunity by the handlebars, and are zipping their way into a promising future.

KALAIVANI J

“Life was regular. My husband managed his transport business, and I worked at the store of a leading watch brand as a Customer Relationship Officer. Although the hours were long and tiring, I managed to earn enough to lead a comfortable life. But something was missing. I wasn’t fulfilled, I felt like I needed to be doing something else. My husband endured multiple fractures due to an accident and I had to leave my job and look after things at home.

Soon I felt the stress of a financial burden and my neighbour who was a delivery partner told me to try this out. Both he and I couldn’t understand why there were very few women in this line of work. Since my bike is my best friend, I made up my mind, and enrolled myself as a partner. You know, it’s important to have women in every field. I remember this one time when it was 10.45PM, past my working hours, and I got a task from a guy urgently requesting sanitary pads for his friend. I understood the girl’s situation. I knew she probably needed it badly, and made sure I got her the package. I could see the relief on her face. And also to her surprise, to receive it from a woman.

My hours are flexible, I have complete control over my daily schedule, and I’ve even managed to start a tiny business of my own — I am truly my own boss. .I know it’s going to take a lot of hard work to grow my business. I’ll get there someday. But for now, I’m your Dunzo Partner.”

DIPALI MAGAR

“I’ve always wanted to serve my country as a Police Officer. Money comes and goes, what I truly want to earn, is a good name. I did try, but I didn’t make the cut. I want to apply again and ensure I’m well prepared next time, so I decided to pursue an education that was entirely funded by me. I found a part time job as a receptionist, but it only lasted a while. But soon, I had to return to the village, since my family was eager to find me a suitable boy. I was adamant and vocal about the fact that I was definitely going to join the IPS with my family and anyone I met. And as luck would have it, I found the most wonderfully supportive man who’s currently my fiancé.

The daily struggles continued, and I was desperate for a job, when I chanced upon a Dunzo partner in my neighbourhood. I saw it as a great opportunity waiting for me. I walked up to him and asked if I too could join as a delivery partner. He guided me through the process, and here I am! Getting people what they need every day, makes me feel useful in a way, you know? In fact, the intention to serve my nation’s citizens is why I aspire to be a Police Officer in the first place. People say there’s a difference when a man and a woman do the same job, but I just don’t see it! A job is a job, and this one has given me the wings I need to go after my dream. I’ve even enrolled to be a gym trainer. I simply can’t wait for the day when I’ll get to stand in front of my parents wearing a police uniform. I want to make them proud.”

--

--

Dunzo

The only delivery app you need. Available 24/7. All outlets in your city now deliver through Dunzo. Getting it Dun across India’s Top 8 cities!